Village Sites

Welcome to the Our Villages Map at the Fort Nelson Lands Department. Fort Nelson First Nation is a community of Dene and Cree people comprising roughly 800 men, women, and children (December 2009, First Nation Profiles, INAC).  We are composed of 14 major families, from ten main villages within our territory: Tłu Tue / Maxhamish, Fonda dezé / Fontas River, Gocho ké / Kotcho Lake, Tłigo ché / Francois, Nádo deh / Snake River, Łidli / Nelson Forks, Dídah tthe / Pretty Hill, Moose Lake, Kahntah, and Tthek’eneh Kué / Old Fort Nelson.

Today, many of our members reside in our main community, Fort Nelson Indian Reserve #2, roughly six kilometres southeast of the community of Fort Nelson, at Mile 293-295 along the Alaska Highway.

Press the "Play" button on the bottom left of this page to scroll through a brief history of each of the ten original village sites and enjoy photos and audio samples of the original Dene names.